Planted Aquarium Struggles

gforce1

Newbie here. Attempting a planted aquarium. About 3 weeks, ago I planted 4 lead bunches of potomageton gayi into the substrate. I also used an aquarium glue to cover quite a few rocks with Java moss. In that time, the potomageton gayi has almost completely died, and the java moss is either doing very poorly or is also dead. I also added a mat of java fern, but it’s only been in the aquarium 3 days.

It’s quite possible I planted these plants improperly. Having said that, here are the specs:

It’s a 30 gallon tank, with caribsea flora max substrate, and an aqueon 15 watt floramax bulb. There is an additional LED lightbulb as well. It gets roughly 9 hours of light per day. The PH is 8.3, with almost nothing in the way of ammonia/nitrites/nitrates. I use API Leafzone, API root tabs, and API CO2 booster. I use a combination of Seachem Acid Regulator and Seachem Neutral Regulator with the hope of lowering my PH. The tank has been cycling for about a month, with 6 platy’s currently stocked.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Attachments

• 89FC0D59-2708-4B67-9A27-E4BDD7ED78BC.jpeg
    89FC0D59-2708-4B67-9A27-E4BDD7ED78BC.jpeg
    220 KB · Views: 25
  • D021DC4A-8E6F-444C-9BC1-87F253C9D4E5.jpeg
    D021DC4A-8E6F-444C-9BC1-87F253C9D4E5.jpeg
    198.1 KB · Views: 25

Roman96

First, don't mess with ph. That will increase problems for plants and fish. 8.3 isn't that bad, and platys perfer higher ph.

Lighting seems to be a problem too, usually with bulbs your supposed to the wat per gallon rule. I'd invest in something like a nicrew led if you just want to keep the lower-moderate light plants.

Api leafzone won't do much, you need a all in one fertilizer. easy green is what I use, but there are other options such as thrive, marcus fish tank all in one, etc.

Upvote 0

SeattleRoy

Hi gforce1