Plant Questions.

1. Zoomo

Zoomo Well Known Member Member

So, I am new to plants, like never had a live fish tank plant before and just delved in. I have anubias now, java fern, aristo something, and ludwigia repens.

I have found out now that none of what I have bought can really be planted into the gravel because their rhizomes need to be above the gravel. Right?

I did not realize this when I planted them all.

The anubias came attached to driftwood so they are okay.

The rest I took pieces and attached small pieces of weights to the bottom and dug them into the gravel.

So my confusion is, how will it attach to the gravel, and if it does, does that mean I can never take all the water out of the tank and clean it because I will uproot my plants?

I would attach it all to stuff, but I do not have any small stuff to attach it to and wouldn't the tank look silly with tiny driftwoods all over the place?

Basically I want the back wall of the tank to be pretty densely covered by tall plants like the ludwigia and fern and aristo, so how to I get it so that it will grow across the back of the tank? What do you all attach it to. Am I better off potting them so I can move them if need be? But there are really no roots on these things, and I cannot bury the rhizomes.

The front, middle I want around both sides with shorter plants like the anubias. I have 2 now. I Again, I would have to buy tiny pieces of driftwood to attach it to or rocks.

Plants are a pain in the tookus. Some of the ones I planted supposedly have been floating around the tank free float, just a few pieces here and there and i just stick them back like under a decoration, but I guess I want to be able to clean my gravel from time to time completely by taking it out.

Buying driftwoods with these plants on them is not cheap. Buying potted plants won't help because I have to get the cotton off each one and their rhizomes cannot be buried.

Few things:

1. Help me!!!!