Planaria In Planted Betta Tank!

Pansy

Reaction score
Today I noticed these tiny white dots floating across the walls of my planted 3.5 gal Betta tank and I realized that they are planaria. They are really small but, you can make out the distinct shape and I can tell what they are by the way they move. This is my first time dealing with a planaria infestation so I don't really know how to go about it. My Betta doesn't seem to be affected at all. However, I am worried about my nerite snail and ghost shrimp. I know that many people use dewormer to treat these infestations but i don't know where to get it. (I live in an area with no real fish stores besides a petsmart with the same problem). Also, can I treat with everybody still in the tank?

Gypsy13

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Oh you really must post a pic. I love pics that gross my hubby out! If it weren’t for your shrimp you’d be ok. There’s a planaria trap you could get. There’s a medication that will kill them but then you have to deal with all the decaying worms. And it’s not safe for snails. Hmmm... @Thunder_o_b @75g Discus Tank @david1978 I can’t think of the med. One of the fens though.

dwarfpufferlover

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
I am currently treating my tank, it’s Fenbendazole you can find it locally in Panacur c dog dewormer at PetSmart so should be easy if you have one.

I couldn’t find no planaria and I hear it’s detrimental to cycle.

It is the yellow gram packets and the dose is 1/10 gram for 10 gallons. Dose every 24/48 hours with water change. You also have to shake it in a container before use to mix well.

Mazeus

Well Known Member
Reaction score
dwarfpufferlover said:
I am currently treating my tank, it’s Fenbendazole you can find it locally in Panacur c dog dewormer at PetSmart so should be easy if you have one.