Pictus Catfish

Christina34
This is my first time with this type of cat. Hes staying pretty much at the top of the tank swimming in one corner. He is new to the tank today and I'm not sure if this is a sign of distress or maybe hes just stressed out.

The only reason I could think he would hang at the surface is a lack of oxygen but I'm running two air stones and the tank is heavily planted.

CaptainAquatics
Christina34 said:
This is my first time with this type of cat. Hes staying pretty much at the top of the tank swimming in one corner. He is new to the tank today and I'm not sure if this is a sign of distress or maybe hes just stressed out.

The only reason I could think he would hang at the surface is a lack of oxygen but I'm running two air stones and the tank is heavily planted.
Probably just stressed. I have two pictus and they NEVER go to the surface so if that continues let me know.

Jellibeen
How big is the tank?

CaptainAquatics
Jellibeen said:
How big is the tank?
Pictus do need a minimum of at LEAST 55 gallons, so if it is to small of a tank that might be why. Pictus also like to be in groups, they are like cories.

Jellibeen
CaptainAquatics said:
Pictus do need a minimum of at LEAST 55 gallons, so if it is to small of a tank that might be why. Pictus also like to be in groups, they are like cories.
Yes, that's what I was thinking. I remember my zebra loaches glass surfing when I had them in their minimum tank size (29 gallons). I moved them into a 90 gallon and they don't go near the surface.

Christina34
CaptainAquatics said:
Probably just stressed. I have two pictus and they NEVER go to the surface so if that continues let me know.
I will, thank you!

Jellibeen said:
How big is the tank?

Jellibeen said:
Yes, that's what I was thinking. I remember my zebra loaches glass surfing when I had them in their minimum tank size (29 gallons). I moved them into a 90 gallon and they don't go near the surface.
My tank is 75 gallons. Maybe he needs a friend.