(pics)first salt water tank. 90 litre aqua one tank with sump. any advice NEEDED

Discussion in 'Saltwater Beginners' started by adadrian, Jul 27, 2015.

1. adadrian

adadrian New Member Member

hi guys as most of you i've had a lot of fresh water tanks set ups etc

and have finally jumped into salt water

unfortunately due to space i only got a 90 litre set up (plus sump)

here it is

got live rock and some media in the sump along with protein skimmer etc cycled for 3 weeks

took it in the shop today they did the tests said it was all good to put a couple of fish in now

so just had our first additions 2 clown fish. here they are

I'm very new to this and no nothing compared to fresh water. so any advice is appreciated i've been reading and trying to absorb everything i can.

any adivices with fish,invetebre or anything i can add or anything else please feel free to tell me any advice or (criticism
    haha

thanks

adrian from australia (brisbane)

looking forward to learn so much on saltwater

2. BornThisWayBettas

BornThisWayBettas Fishlore VIP Member

Welcome to Fish Lore haha!!!! So good to have you here! :D I'm a freshwater gal, but I just wanted to say that your tank looks lovely! I luv clownfish! :)

3. LiterallyHydro

LiterallyHydro Well Known Member Member

Nice tank you've got there.

You should ask many questions about any process that comes to mind. The more you learn, the more successful you'll be in keeping a saltwater tank.

One suggestion that I'll make that a lot of new people mess up is to not top the water off with saltwater. You want to top off any evaporated water with RODI fresh water. The salt doesn't evaporate so if you top off with salt water you're only adding more salt to the tank and the salinity will go up.

You could add one more small fish in a few weeks, a clown goby would be a good choice here. Since the tank appears to be tall, rather than long, I would stay away from fish like royal grammas or six line wrasses.