Pick off dead plant spots?

Discussion in 'Aquarium Plants' started by RACGuitar, Jul 18, 2015.

1. R

RACGuitar New Member Member

I'm relatively new to plants. My first two were Java Ferns and Anubias Hastifolia. When I first placed them in the tank they started to brown a little bit. I have read this is a normal thing to happen when the plant is adjusting.

Right now it has been awhile and the browning hasn't gotten any worse and the java fern has started sprouting a new plant off of one of its leaves that seems healthy.

So now all that's left to do is remove all the dead. How exactly do I do this? Would I cut off the whole leaf from the roots or just peel off the brown area. I realize this may be an extremely basic question but I just want to have healthy plants and don't want to ruin anything on assumption.

Thanks in advance!
    Randy

Brown Tip Anubias Hastifolia.jpg Brown Java Fern.JPG

2. alink

alink Well Known Member Member

Just curious, are these plants in your 75, 30, 5.5 or a different tank? What kind of lighting do you have on the tank? Are you dosing any ferts or root tabs? How many hours of light do they get?

3. OP
    OP
    R

It's in the 75g.

The lighting is LEDs that say they are good for low to medium light.

I regularly add Flourish, Flourish Excel, and Iron from Seachem. I also do fertilizer tablets. Also, they are not planted into substrate and are tied to the rocks with fishing string. They get 9 hours of light, secured at that time with a lighting timer.

Thanks,
    Randy

4. alink

alink Well Known Member Member

It appears to be a Potassium deficiency to me but I'm not an expert. I have read that you can remove the leafs with brown spots and if the new leaves get them then it may be a mineral deficiency. The brown spots are dead and wont grow back. If you dont want to lose the whole leaf, you can remove the brown spot if you are okay with the visually effect that will leave you.