PH question for Malawi Cichlids

johnny75
HI everyone, I'm new to the fishlore forum. I originally planned on keeping gourami's and Australian rainbows, but decided to change to African Cichlid (Lake MalawI Mbuna Cichlids). I currently have a 55 gallon tank with a Fluval canister filter. The tank is in the middle of the fishless Nitrogen cycle.(I'm using 3 raw shrimp.) I currently have gravel stones, which I've read that crushed coral is the right approach to raising the PH level for African cichlids. Should I remove the gravel and add crushed coral or should I just place the coral on top of the gravel? I know African cichlids prefer a higher Ph level between 7.5 - 8.5, but I'd like to know how to maintain that ph level during water changes without stressing the fish. My local pet store has suggested to purchase "MalawI & Victoria Buffer by Seachem". Should I use this chemical or would crushed coral maintain a high ph level even during water changes? By the way, this is a awesome site, I've gotten a lot of great ideas from all members.

martynmarion
In my 75 gallon I have 3/4 of the tank in pea size gravel, the rest in white sand. I use an alkaline buffer which serves the same purpose as the malawI buffer. Don't forget to use a stress coat (or something similar) to condition your water in addition to the alkaline buffer. I treat my buckets of water at each water change to both, and thus far things are going ok. You can add a piece of coral rock or two if you want to raise the ph, but I wouldn't suggest putting the crushed coral on top of the other gravel(too much chance of bacteria being trapped down deep). I, like you, have got a ton of info off of this sight, and I am passing along what I have learned. I am by no means an expert on cichlids, but I did stay at a holiday inn express last night.

mlinden84
I have loads of limestone in mine to keep the pH high. (Like the landscaping stuff) Plus, it provides plenty of spots for the cichlids to hide!

Angela_96