PH 'Crash' in tank, how to solve?

triivk
Hi, I have a 250 Litre freshwater tank;

Filtration: I have a Biomaster thermo with a heater, and a Fluval hang on filter. In addition, I have an airstone.

Stocking: 6 neon tetras, 3 buenos aires tetra, 3 emperor tetras, and a Chinese algae eater.
The tank is moderately planted, the hardscape consists of a few pieces of driftwood and slate rock. I have gravel substrate.

The tank has been running for about a year now - I do water changes weekly, but as of late nearly daily.

I noticed that my PH, usually around 6.5, had dropped significantly. Using my API master test kit, the PH was reading 6, the lowest the test goes. As such, I bought a 'wide range' PH test from API, and it's reading between 5 and 6.

My belief is that the PH drop reset/crashed my cycle, as I have been reading ammonia in my tank nearly daily. As such I obviously treat with prime and do daily 40-50% water changes.

Just to reiterate:
PH: 5-6
I have extremely soft water, KH: 0-1
Ammonia: 0.25ppm
Nitrite: 0ppm
Nitrate: 5ppm
Temperature: 25-26 Degrees Celsius

I noticed inflamed gills on my fish and even though I usually do weekly water changes, I began doing daily or every other day as I assumed this was ammonia poisoning. After noticing this in collaboration with my PH drop, I tried adding crushed coral and limestone. I was hoping it may raise my KH and in turn PH. I imagine the water changes make the addition of coral basically useless. My tap water is acidic but closer to 6.6ph or something, so I don't know why the water changes aren't helping. I don't want to add beneficial bacteria or other established filter media if it'll just die as soon as I put it in. I'm at a loss.

How do I raise the PH without chemicals? How do I reestablish the cycle? Do I need to begin using bottled water?

Advertisement
jtjgg
some fishkeepers use baking soda.

you can also put a mesh bag of the crushed coral in your filters to help circulate the carbonates.