Petrified Wood for Decor? Help me make up my mind!

poeticinjustices

Well Known
Hey all! It's a post where I'm not freaking out about something being wrong with my fish...who'd a-thunk it? Don't worry, I've still got stuff to freak out about. But that's posted in another forum So pigs haven't flown yet.

Anyway, I'm trying to come up with aquarium decor for the 75 gallon and am having a REALLY hard time finding something that I like that isn't otherwise unsafe for the aquarium.

I luuuuuurve driftwood. But I'm uncomfortable with the pH threat due to low KH and all the boiling and soaking and crushed coral in the world isn't going to make me feel better haha. I feel like trying to balance the driftwood with coral, in my total newb state, would be tempting the fates. I recently stumbled across an article recommending petrified wood for aquarium decor but I haven't seen or heard mention of this type of decor here.

Do you guys know anything about it? Does it affect water chemistry at all? Does it trap/release harmful gasses? Anything specific about using it with goldfish? I'd have to get my hands on it to know if it's smooth/gentle enough but other than that, what are your thoughts?

Guys, I'm really struggling with decor. I just can't seem to settle on anything and ultimately want either a really natural look OR a more dynamic/contemporary/totally unnatural look with lots of color-blocking and clean lines about it. None of that in-between stuff with sunken spaceships or whatever haha. The only thing I've been able to make up my mind about is river rocks for substrate, and a thin layer at that. I'm still trying to figure out how I'm going to plant an aquarium with this particular substrate. And that's as far as I've gotten.

So, PLEASE, tell me how to decorate my tank HAHA.

I'm going to go stalk some photos of all your beautiful tanks as I anxiously await your replies. Go nuts!