Pearl Gourami Laying At Bottom Of Tank, Help

Discussion in 'Pearl Gourami' started by norlando097, Apr 11, 2018.

1. n

norlando097 Valued Member Member

Hey guys I’m kind of new to to tropical scene. So a few days ago in an established tank I changed the substrate from gravel to a black sand. 2 days after that I introduced a pearl gourami and 4 panda corydoras. For the first 2 days my gourami was swimming around a good bit hanging out by the fake plants. She was eating with no problem. At the time my local pet store said that she would be fine in a 10 gallon and now I’m seeing mixed reviews.

Yesterday morning I noticed she was laying at the bottom of the tank. Since then, she is still laying at the bottom, not sideways or anything, and occasionally comes up the the surface gulping some air. I did a partial water change and nothing has changed. I don’t want to have her die already because this would be the first fish I have lost in a short amount of time. Could it be because she feels crammed or is it one of those gourami viruses. Any help would be great!

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 11, 2018
  2. bigdreams

bigdreams Well Known Member Member

Do you have a picture?

10 gallon is too small for a pearl gourami, they really need larger tanks.

4 Cory in a 10 gallon is too few, you need at least 6 of them, but that makes the 10 gallon too small.

Your stocking isn't ideal for a 10 gallon tank.

Do you know about the nitrogen cycle? By changing the subtrate you probbaly removed a lot of the beneficial bacteria in your tank. I would test your water and consider dosing Stability to help boost your beneficial bacteria. Also consider adding some live floating plants (hornwort, etc) to help soak up ammonia, etc. Worried you may have mini cyclr

3. Celestialgirl

Celestialgirl Well Known Member Member