Pearl Gourami - 55g What Else?

1. Sarssio

Sarssio New Member Member

This is my first time posting so bear with me.

Okay, so long story short I was checking out our local fish store for a betta. Ended up taking home a one-eyed female Pearl Gourami. She is awesome, and swimming around in a 15g currently, using her blind side fins to make sure not to run into things.

Now that I have her, she will soon be moving into my 55g once it's done cycling. I'm going to be completely honest, I didn't deeply research this type of fish before buying (impulse) however, I do know not to keep two males together, and that Pearls tend to be on the more docile side... for a gourami.

I was thinking of adding maybe 1 male and 1-2 more females in with her (do they all need to be pearls as well), and then maybe 2-3 other species. I do plan on using live plants, so I don't want anything that will be digging those up too often.. like my platy, lol.

I'm afraid that this all doesn't make sense, I tend to just "go with the flow" lol.
    But basically... do you all have any ideas for tankmates?

Im going to try and add a photo of miss one eye.

Attached Files:

2. S

Sepehr Well Known Member Member

Hello and welcome to Fishlore!
    What are your aquarium dimensions?
    What kind of fish do you like? schooling fish?

I would not mix different Gouramies

3. OP
    OP
    Sarssio

Dimensions are 121cm long x 45cm wide x 45cm tall. Technically a 205 liter, which is just under 55g I believe. I'm honestly pretty new to the fish scene, so I'm not sure what kinds I really like, haha. I do like a more active, schooling fish rather than slow ones like my angels. I'm certainly open to all suggestions.

I figured mixing different types wasn't a good idea, still glad I asked. They usually have a few Pearls, so at least those will be easy to obtain.

4. S

Sepehr Well Known Member Member

Sorry, I am not a Stocking Expert So you must wait for more suggestions!

You can do this :