Peaceful cichlids for community aquarium

Xavier
HI guys

I have a 220 litre/60 gallon tank in which I'd like to keep a pair of cichlids, and was hoping for some suggestions/advice.

The tank was mature, but was empty but for snails for quite some time, so is effectively newly cycled (with the help of seachem stability) as of a few weeks ago. It is home to four young platies, two checker barbs, one gold barb, and two juvenile bristlenose. It is moderately planted- a java fern on driftwood, one other plant on driftwood, and a leafy plant of uncertain identity growing in the substrate which is fine smooth gravel. It has plenty of hiding spots in the form of driftwood caves, rocks, and artificial ornaments. pH is 7.0.

So I'm looking for a small or dwarf species, peaceful, and not too destructive to plants- I'm willing to pot the one in the substrate if necessary but would prefer not to. Preferably hardy, as I'm a newbie to keeping cichlids. I'd like to keep a male female pair with the hope of them eventually breeding, as I'm really interested in the parental care that I've read that many cichlid species display.

From the research I've done so far, my best options seem to be rainbow or cockatoo cichlids? It also sounds like the ideal way to get a breeding pair is to buy multiple youngters and raise them together to pair off naturally, but I'm not sure whether more than one pair of cichlids (even if dwarf ones) would be overstocking the tank? But it also sounds like determining the sex of young cichlids is often very difficult?

Any comments, advice, or suggestions would be very much appreciated

Thank you!

Wildside
You should be okay with a couple of pairs of either type in your aquarium but be careful, sometimes if and when they breed they can be seriously nasty. You could also think about Kribensis, they're generally pretty hardy and peaceful. If they start breeding, it's best to keep an eye on them.