Parrot And Convict Breeding Advice

lonehunter

just wanted to share this rare occurrence between a convict Cichlid and a parrot Cichlid breeding I hope most of them survive but does anybody have any tips on keeping them alive and growing fast this is my first time ever having fry

and did I mention this was rare

Bry

Like the convict and parrot are the parents? Is that even biologically possible? I'm intruiged.

Rtessy

Nice! Interesting to see a fertile BP, those are pretty rare! I assume the BP is the female?
For the babies, honestly I'm not sure what you should do. Do you have any live food? If so, what?

lonehunter

Bry said:
Like the convict and parrot are the parents? Is that even biologically possible? I'm intruiged.
Well it turns out it is possible

Rtessy

lonehunter said:
Well it turns out it is possible
I think BP's can breed with most cichlids since they're just a mix of several. They're even the starting point for flowerhorns! Just look at King Kong Parrots; if they get a big enough nuchal hump they're considered flowerhorns, if not, they're just King Kong Parrot Cichlids. One of the earliest flowehorns, I think it went to the Golden Monkey after that.
The real issue is finding a fertile Blood Parrot, since most hybrid fish are infertile. Breeding two blood parrots together is practically impossible, same with flowehorns, but breeding them to other cichlids is much more possible.
Do you know if the BP is the male or female? If you have a fertile male, that's quite a rarity. Even if it's a fertile female, you still won't see that too often!

CaptAnnDuchow

My female lays eggs like crazy but alas my male is sterile. Maybe I will eventually get a convict .. Cant wait to see what these babys look like!

Coptapia

Female blood parrots are fertile. It’s only the males that aren’t (most of them).

lonehunter

Rtessy said: