Panda Cory Trouble

Tetrabarmy

Reaction score
Hey, so I’m relatively new to the fish world, I started out with a 9 gallon tank last year and just recently upgraded to a 27 gallon tank. I’ve cycled the tank and part stocked it with fish from my old tank and a few new additions over the past 8 weeks of it running.
12 green neon tetras
5 ember tetras
5 rosy white fin tetras
1 male betta (Eric by name)
2 black and orange bristlenose plecs
1 panda cory

So here lies my problem, all my fish are thriving apart from the cory, I had 4 and unfortunately I’m left with one. I don’t have my own water test kit, I’ve had the water tested 4 times within the past 8 weeks at my local aquatic store, previous 3 tests have been fine. The first wasn’t but it was when I was cycling the tank, I was eager to get stock into it and got it tested, safe to say following the test I didn’t move any fish in.

The Corys have all followed the same pattern, they stop being active, sit with their dorsal fin down, then start to sit on the top of a rock in the tank or on top of the filter, again not very active but they do look happier with their dorsal fin up. They then seem to lose their stability and a day or so later die. Then the cycle starts again and another one starts to follow the pattern. So I’m left now with one Cory, which I know isn’t good as they like to school, but I don’t want to run the risk of introducing anymore into the tank and losing them.

The one I’m left with is hyper, he rarely sits for more than 5 seconds, he terrorises the ember and rosy white’s and just zips around the tank constantly. I’ve done a lot of reading and seeing quite a few people having similar issues with panda cory dying but can't offer any particular reason. So given what I know I’m thinking that they may not like my gravel and ultimately is causing them some sort of discomfort and stress? Anyone able to offer any opinions or thoughts?

jake37

Well Known
Reaction score