Panda Cory "tending" to bubbles

Kristyn

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
Do Panda Corys blow bubbles or tend to the bubbles at the top of the tank? 1 of my 4 corys is constantly at the top of my tank tanking in the bubbles that are on top and blowing them back out. I never had the bubbles until I put these guys in my tank but I'm pretty sure it's just the fish doing it. Once I had about 2 handfulls of bubbles on the top of my tank. Is this normal? All of the water parameters have stayed the same... I don't know what to think ???

FishHobbiest

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
I'm kinda new with cories but ive done a desent amount of research and I have never heard of this. Hopefuly one of the forum members will come along soon to help

ayelie

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
What are your water parameters? All corys will shoot up to the top and take in air bubbles and go back to the bottom. Mine will shoot up get a bubble and then he will chase a bubble on top sometimes. He will also chase the guppy sometimes.

steed1172

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
handfuls of bubbles? that's one zealous cory.... I always find mine at top(my albino more often then the jullis) and I have come to think of it as normal...for corries, corries blow bubbles/suck in air for the air bladder to keep them more or less buoyant(float/sink)
if you just got them, they may not be used to the depth of the tank, even then they will still do it constantly.. atop of that, mine comes to the surface to eat as well.(which kinda scares me cause he only feeds near the sides and not much food ends up there..)