Overstocking or Understocking fish

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by raif281, Jul 29, 2015.

1. r

raif281 Valued Member Member

ok guys bare with this noob here, the only fish I've ever messed with have been on the end of my fishin line . my little cousin wants an aquarium and I volunteered to get it, learn about it all and it will be kept at my house. I got the sudden urge to get one a few weeks ago and now I have a good excuse to finally get one lol! now ive done some research on a bit of stuff but I'm still a noob about it all. my girlfriends coworker has to look when he gets home but he believes he has a 20 or 30 gallon tank he's gonna give me. I was thinking about this setup

2 maybe 3 - Cory Cat
    4 or so Guppy
    and either
    2 Glassfish or
    2 Aphyosemion austral

not sure if I would be over crowding in a 20 gallon if i added more than the Cory cats and guppy.

is this to many fish in the tank? what would be a good combo of these fish? I know a few of them are supposed to have so many fish like guppies. these numbers are just preliminary and I will adjust accordingly. let me know, if I get the 20 gallon and 30 gallon tank, what fish from above I could get and how many I should have without overstocking, thanks in advance guys!

2. Dom90

Dom90 Fishlore VIP Member

Cories are schooling fish and need to be in a group of six or more of the same species. In your case, it wouldnt make you overstocked.

3. ClearEyes

ClearEyes Well Known Member Member

According to Fishlore, glassfish are also a schooling fish, so that's another 6 or more. That will put you over, I think.

4. TexasDomer

TexasDomer Fishlore Legend Member

Glassfish are schooling fish too, and should be kept in groups of 6 or more.

In a 20 gal long, you could do 6 cory cats and a school of glass fish. Or 6 cory cats and 2 of the killifish. From reading their profiles, it seems the killifish would be outcompeted by the glassfish for food.

5. Dom90