Overstocked? Please Help

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by Emjay, Aug 2, 2017.

1. E

Emjay New Member Member

I'm just new to this hobby I just had my 36 gallon tank cycled and running about 1 month and 2 weeks. At first I put in 6 danios while cycling and afterwards when everything looks good with the water parameter I added 3 mollies and 2 pot bellied, and 1 albino sucker fish and a big one can't remember the name. Now after a while I have added another 3 silver dollar, 1 gold gourami, 2 African dwarf frog and 1 parrot fish. Unfortunately My friend who's tank was having problem gave me her 2 black moor and I can't say no . Am I over stocked? I'm doing 25% water change every other day coz my amonia is always on the stress side so is the nitrites. I'm looking at getting a 50 gallon tank if over stocked is my problem or maybe just upgrade to a bigger filter? Pease advise. Thank you.

2. Adam Alston

Adam Alston New Member Member

Your are definitely over stocked. You should look into using the inch per gallon to see how many fish you can store in your tank. Since you have a lot of fish, I would recommend getting the 50 gal tank. Heres a calculator that can help you with how many inches per fish you can have in the 50 gal or your 36:  

3. shiv234

shiv234 Well Known Member Member

you most likely have a common pleco. That alone needs 120+ gallons. Parrot fish needs 60+ gallons, gourami needs 20 gallons and 40-50 per silver dollar. You really need a 200g+ tank for those fishes

the inch per gallon rule completely wrong. By that rule i can keep a 36 inch fish in a 36 gallon tank. That rule is completely unrealiable

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 2, 2017
  4. Kellye8498

Kellye8498 Well Known Member Member

Absolutely do not look at the inch per gallon rule please. It's outdated and completely incorrect unfortunately.

5. shiv234

More than outdated. It should have never been made

6. Adam Alston

It works on small or juvenile fisho_O