5 Gallon Tank Overstocked 5-gal Rescue Mission

Demeterite

I met someone on Facebook Marketplace who is looking to rehome her 6-month old aquarium.

It's one of those 5-gallon Marineland Portrait Blade Light Aquarium Kits. She's giving me all her supplies + the current stocking in the tank for $40 so even though it's not my ideal tank I'm jumping on the deal to get back into the hobby after a few years off. I only had tanks for ~a year and a half before so I'm no expert.

Problem -- the current stocking in the 5-gallon is as follows:

- 1 white cory cat
- 1 neon
- 2 guppies (1 male, 1 female)
- 1 male endler
- 2 serpae tetras
- 1 shrimp

Cories need a grouping of like 6, right and get like 2.5inches so those shouldn't be in a 5...
The neons, albeit tiny, also need a grouping of like 6+
The guppy pairing sounds like a nightmare in a 5-gal
...plus a bonus endler that can breed with them, too? Eesh.
Serpaes also want a full school
...and I don't know why they haven't nibbled up that solo shrimp yet

I won't have any other tanks I can put anyone into for at least a few weeks.

I've never had a 5-gallon before. Are ANY of those okay to keep in there? Aesthetically, I'm not in love with any of them and would rather have had the tank with no critters but she insisted they must come with it.

Thoughts? Advice? Any of you in Nashville want some free fish?

BigManAquatics

Only one of those i would keep in there is the shrimp.

Matthew052248

do you have any friends you can rehome them to? If not in my opinion you can try returning it to a fish store stating what the situation is. if that doesn’t work, I would try to invest in a bigger tank and sell the 5 gallon with everything included.

User1

Y
I met someone on Facebook Marketplace who is looking to rehome her 6-month old aquarium.