Overpopulated Shrimp Tank

• Thread starter Renaissanista
  • Start date

Renaissanista

I am brand new to aquarium keeping.
I started last August.

I initially had a 10 gallon with a ghosty and 2 trapdoor snails.

My ghost shrimp died so I moved up to blue diamond cherry.
I bought 12, 6 lived long term.

I then found a few tangerine cherries that were sold to me as another type of shrimp that wouldnt breed with my blues. lfs petco not very smart.

Of course they did breed.

I ended up getting a 20 gallon and divided it to keep my blues and oranges separate.

I also got a dozen rabbit snails and now have over 25 babies.

I now have over 70 reddish to yellow and a smaller number of mixed on one side of my 20 gallon and am just getting a nice blue shrimp population with about 40 snails on the other side.
Its a higher ph tank about 7.4. Harder water.

Everyone serms to be thriving and snail shells look fantastic.
I have had a few deaths on the orange side from molting issues that I think are overcrowding related.
If I catch them having problems early, I move them to the other side and many do fine after that.

I really need to get rid of some oranges and mixes to lower the population.
Im not too keen on selling them for food though.
I want to find a way to smoothly get half these guys in someone elses hands.Maybe some yellow rabbits too, babies.

I live in WV US.

They are awesome cleaners, larger cherries and breed profusely. Very string stock these orange are. I've gotten some cool mixes with the blues, seafoam green, racer stripe, yellow inards blue striped body. Rili like also.

The coolest thing about them is that they were born in high ph water and thrive in it. This makes it so much easier to keep gorgeous healthy rabbit snails along with the shrimp.

Just looking for suggestions.
I sell live garden plants on Etsy and could sell my shrimp online. Just makes me nervous because I'm not sure how to ship them etc.