Overcrowded? 29 Gallon Tank

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by spike98, Apr 19, 2018.

1. spike98

spike98 Valued Member Member

I currently have a 29 gallon with multiple fish:
    3 Synodontis Eupterus Catfish
    1 Silver Dollar
    1 Black Moor
    1HYPOSTOMUS PLECOSTOMUS
    2 Comet Gold fish
    2 Gold Fish
    1 Rainbow Shark
    1 Small sucker fish
    I started this tank with little guidance but things have been going very well with no deaths. I do weekly water changed sometimes earlier depending on conditions. I was wondering if it would be beneficial to relocate some fish to different tanks as I know understand this could be classified as overcrowded. I planned on moving the rainbow shark, one catfish as it's growth stop and is much smaller than the others, and atleast one other but I'm not sure on which as of now. In addition to this do you think it possible to leave my tank at it's current size? As I'm currently a freshman in college and pushing my size restrictions by 9 gallons.

2. Smalltownfishfriend

Smalltownfishfriend Well Known Member Member

Hmm I wonder if you shouldn't re-home the goldfish?! They need at least a 55 gallon! @TexasDomer helped me with my stocking I am sure he could help you with your!!!:)

3. OP
    OP
    spike98

I currently don't have the funds or living space for a 55 gallon. If or when my goldfish got too large for my tank I plan to give them to someone with the tank space to support them.

4. penguin02

penguin02 Well Known Member Member

Your tank is extremely overstocked. Many of those fish aren't compatible aggression-wise and temp-wise. Whoever was helping you has no idea what they're doing. I would recommend rehoming everything in there and starting properly from scratch. We can help you every step of the way.

5. OP
    OP
    spike98