Our first tank!

1. Prince Powder Well Known Member Member

Hello everyone I'm new to the forum and new to fish keeping. My husband was recently bitten bye the betta bug thanks to his co workers and we now have a few bettas in individual bowls around the house. As is so often the case, I have become the bettas' primary caretakers. However I'm new to bettas and I've never started a tank from scratch before, so I'll have several questions I'm sure. After some persistence I was able to convince him to do away with the bowls and get a real tank for them. We got an AWESOME deal on a 14 gallon tank kit (tank, hood with light, power filter and heater for only $40) and we're looking to divide it for the bettas. I've already read the posts regarding how to divide the tank and I look forward to starting that DIY project next week or so.

But to the point!