Oscar/Predatory fish Build

1. chris1233 Member Member

So as an avid fish hobbyist I've started to think abut expanding and creating a much larger tank to house some much larger fish than I currently have. At the moment I have two ten gallon tanks and one twenty-nine gallon, which are beginning to become boring and rather small for my liking. That being said I was looking to create a tank through my knowledge of woodworking, and other useful techniques acquired through the years of my owning tanks. I have found several tutorials on how to build the tank and stand, however, I have one problem... how large of a tank should I build? I have a rough Idea of what I would like to keep, maybe one or two oscars and one or two peacock bass. Not all four, I'm just trying to decide what would be more fun to keep. If anyone would like to comment and tell me the following things I'd much appreciate it.

-Tank size in gallons
    -Possible Dimensions
    -Things to note when keeping these fish
    -food for them

Thanks for reading my post, I look forward to reading your comments!

2. Bamafish353 Member Member

I have 2 oscars in a 65 gallon tank and they are doing well! Personally I wouldn't have a bigger tank than 90 gallons for an Oscar. Not sure about the dimensions but my oscars are very gentle until it comes to eating. That brings me to what I feed them. Personally I prefer jumbo min large floating sticks they are pretty big so I don't recommend them for younger oscars. Hope this helped!! By the way I love my oscars they are so graceful!!!

3. beau Well Known Member Member