Oscar fish bare minimums.

TyGuy320
I would like to start a thread on the bare minimum size tanks for an oscar. I see that on threads from other sites and even this one over the years have gotten the question of tank sizes for oscars. Often I disagree with the recommendations. I am aware that I am new to fish keeping, so let me know why my reasoning is wrong, if it is.

I have found that you can look up tank size requirements for oscar fish all day. You will hear various answers. You can find 55 gallons as a bare minimum for one oscar, 75 gallons for one, or even 100 gallons for just one oscar. Now, you will more often than not hear the 55 or 75. Though I have read my fair share of posts saying a minimum of 100 gallons. I cannot for the life of me figure out why. I agree that a 55 gallon is minimum for an oscar. Though I would say that someone can comfortably house two in a 55 gallon. Here is why. A standard 55 gallon tank is 48" long, 12" front to back, and 21"-22" inches tall. The average oscar will max out in size at about 12", maybe even smaller. Though I personally see people throw around the 16". That is absurd. One would be hard pressed to find an oscar that is captive bred from Petsmart, Petco, or wherever that grows to be 16" long. Maybe a wild oscar. The most people will see from a captive bred oscar is 13"-13.5", and that is extreme. One would more likely see a 10" oscar than one bigger than 12".

So that brings me to my question. Where is the problem with two oscars in a 55 gallon? I know that if they get longer than 12", then you should move it. I see no reason to bank on your fish growing to an odd size like that though. Also, oscar fish are very relaxed and not too active. Or at least that is what I have seen from all of the ones I have ever met. It seems to me that if someone has proper filtering for the two oscars and they are peaceful, then they can coexist in a 55 gallon easily. Let me know what you think!

Dark Storm