Orange Platy Breeding Age?

aquaria62

Reaction score
:
I'm a newbie to Fishlore.com and wondered if anyone could answer the followings questions for me.  Platys, at what age do Platys breed?  How long/ how many times can the female give birthing on a single mating? Distinction of male and female?  Is it true that the female is rounder around the center and longer and darker in color than the male?  A reply to any of my questions would be appreciated.  I have nursery each 1 1/2 gal plastic tanks securely attached within my 50 gal acrylic all of which have small wisteria plants, a small amount of gravel, proper water flow through nursery tanks and each a small piece of bog wood.

There have been 3 separate birthing from a single bright orange healthy platy I I've had only days prior to 1st birthing.
1st set of fry are 3months old [2 total] {1 to 1 1/4" length}
2nd set of fry are  2 months old [15-17 total] {1/2" to 1" length}
3rd set are 1 month old [17-20] each around 1/4" in length
The 3 month old fish {only 2} I am pretty sure are male fry,  roughly 1/2 of the 2 month old fry appear to be female and I can't distinguish the 1 month old fry as of yet.  I have a good reliable fish store I've been going to for some time now in which the owner and few employees each have over 10 years experience in aquatic pet care.

{They are all eating 3 times a day a varied healthy formula.  I have excellent filtration in a well established {7.0 to 7.5 PH - 0 nitrite and near 0 to 5 in nitrate and 0 ammonia I check it twice a month} balanced with several plants {wisterias/swords/ferns} environment with secured hiding places {small caves suctioned to wall of aquarium} The tank inhabits one 10 year old Plec {spike} @ 15" in length, 1 black molly {mack is her name} }3 1/2" to 4" in length appears to be female and 1 bright orange platy {charlie} at 2 1/2" in length.

What age and or size can I adopt the fry out?

Any or all answers will be very much appreciated...  Thank you.

Butterfly