One, two or three Pearl Gouramis?

1. Dumulon Initiate Member

I currently have one Pearl Gourami male in my 45 gallon tank. He is a bit aggressive a feeding time: when all surface food is done, he will go and harass the cories on the bottom. (I will get three more peppered cories as soon as my LFS gets some but I don't know when that will be. I am hoping that with a larger school, the pearl will let them be!)

In the meantime, I have been diligently researching the internet for the 'ideal' number of pearl gourami to suppress aggression, but opinions are divided about 50-50: half say keep one pearl, the other half says more (then, some say get 1 male - 2 female ration, other say get a pair).

I really like my male, he has nice colours and is the king of the tank. Can anyone share their experience with one or many pearl gouramis?

Attached Files:

2. bankruptjojo Fishlore VIP Member

im not an expert but i think only one is the best way to go. i had a DG that was chasing my neons. i put him in a gallon tank divider inside the tank for 5 days and when i released him he didnt bother a one! you could try that.

3. Erica0107 Member Member

I would get two girls for your male. My male was a crabby butt that used to bother my cories too. I got a larger school of cories and 2 female pearls, and haven't had any problems with him since.

Pearls are really fun to watch as a group as well. They really seem to enjoy each others company and are almost always together.

4. soltarianknight Fishlore VIP Member

The problem is that a 45 isnt really appropriate for 3 pearls i dont belive. they have the potential for 6" average. Still, something must be done about your crabby male. You could try replacing him with a female if your up for it?

5. Erica0107 Member Member

I have 3 in a 40 breeder and I could be wrong, but i think Jaysee used to keep 3 in a 45. From what I have read, their average size is about 4 inches with a max of 5.

6. Dumulon Initiate Member