One pleco & one cherry shrimp dead within 12hrs!

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Nonie, Jul 9, 2015.

1. NonieNew MemberMember

First off, I want to say that I am new to keeping an aquarium. I've had a 23L(6gallon) freshwater tank for about 3 months now, with no issues... Thanks to this forum!
    I perform water checks once a week, and all readings are within normal. Water temp is at 28 degrees C (82.4F- I live in the south of France).
    My tank contains :
    2 rasboras
    2 rummynose tetras
    3 corydoras
    3 ghost shrimp
    2 cherry shrimp + new shrimplets
    1 pleco (deceased)
    1 cherry shrimp (deceased )
    I came home yesterday to find my pleco dead, with no visible physical signs of trauma etc. this morning I found a dead cherry shrimp.
    I would really appreciate any guidance, as I'm really worried they will all die off :(

2. LiterallyHydro

LiterallyHydroWell Known MemberMember

That water is pretty warm, you may want to dial that back a bit into the high 70s.

What did you feed the pleco?

By the way, the tank is over stocked for any of those fish. I wouldn't put anything other than a betta in the tank.

3. PuffPuff

PuffPuffWell Known MemberMember

that is a super fully stock to capacity tank. also like LiterallyHydro stated, that temp is to high for these fishes. im sure the pleco as well as the other fish are stressed. killing them. rehome them to a bigger tank or remove some of them

4. OP
    OP
    N

NonieNew MemberMember

I'm in the process of getting an air conditioner installed ; the water is currently at room temp :(
    I fed him pellets that the corydoras were also eating and they all seemed to have a healthy appetite these past three months. Sometimes the pleco (Mr.Big) would push everyone out of the way and literally sit on the pellet for about 10 minutes at a time.
    Thank you so much for your quick reply... I'm really very distraught

Work hard. Play hard. Die hard