Old, poorly goldfish advice appreciated

Goldilox

Hi Folks

I'd really appreciate any advice someone can offer.

I have a goldfish that's roughly 13/14 years old and isn't well. I'm no expert in the field, but have learnt via google etc and I've done the best I can thus far.
However, he was struggling to stay upright, and is now permanently upside down. I have tried peas, commercially-available swim bladder treatments etc but its been 2/3 weeks now and things aren't improving. He's had it before a few years ago, and a couple of peas did the trick. However, its had fin-rot (cured), ich (cured), and it's tail has been bent for 6/7 years which from what I gather is from too small a tank, but it's in a 64 litre tank, which for the last 8 years or so, he has been the sole inhabitant. Or, apparently it can be caused by nitrate poisoning but I do my best to keep on top of the water quality and have a few different kits for different things.
At the minute, as it struggles to swim down, it consistently wedges itself up against the pump housing and tank side, presumably, because it's tired/stressed. I don't want it to suffer, which I presume it is. Is there anything else you would try? Or does there come a point where you have to be cruel to be kind? I've never had a to put down a fish before, but I wouldn't let a dog suffer like this. My idiot brother bought him for my daughter, and I can't see pets struggle. I'd like to think I've done a reasonable job, but also torture myself that maybe I've just prolonged a fish's suffering for a lifetime by doing just enough not to kill the poor thing. Any advice anyone can offer would be much appreciated.

SparkyJones