Okay, I'm Cheap. How Can I Make This Work?

emmysjj
Ok, here's my situation. I'm doing pygmy cories and chillI rasboras in my 10 gallon (I know, I know, the pygmys are controversial. I am confident that I can provide an enriching environment for them) with a few RCS and I have around $100 to work with. I am getting my tank during the dollar per gallon sale (maybe today?) so that's $10. I already have my HOB filter, Tetra SafeStart, Pure Ammonia, chili's food, Prime, and an API Test Kit. I need:
-Black sand (10 lbs? I want a 1-1/2 inch layer)
-Heater (50 watts)
-Lid with or without lights
-Decor (going for silk plants. Must be heavily decorated for the cories.)

What is the best and cheapest way to do this? Is there anything i'm missing? This needs to stay as far under $100 as possible. Thanks!

emmysjj
Oh, I forgot to add that my budget includes livestock, so around 20-25 dollars for that

Mary765
Second hand is your salvation! I'm a student and always buy expensive stuff like tanks, filters, heaters and lights for a fraction of the price online. Check eBay, gumtree and any other second-hand places you can think of but eBay if my personal favourite.

Once you have the equipment all you need to do is give it a good clean with method of your choice, look it over for damage or wear/tear and test it before it's usable!

emmysjj
Thanks, I'll check that out. How do you know what you're getting is safe?

Mary765
Thanks, I'll check that out. How do you know what you're getting is safe?

The previous owner should be able to tell you. Otherwise you look at the components I.e check for cracks or obviously broken pieces. Then you put the equipment in some water (if it's a submerged piece) turn it on and see if it works. If you receive a broken or dodgy item you are entitled to a refund

shutterbug13
Black diamond blasting sand is your best bet for substrate, it costs about $8 for 50 lbs.