Ok to use live rock and sand in freshwater tank?

pkmiller
HI everyone! Newbie here. Need a quick answer if you don't mind...I am becoming overwhelmed (and running out of money). I am/was in the process of setting up my 33 gallon tank for saltwater but after much reading I doubt it will succeed. I have 28 lbs of live rock and live sand. No fish yet. Can I just take the water out and refill and go back to freshwater? Can I keep the rock and sand since it cost me $300?

capekate
Hello PKMiller and welcome to fishlore...
Hopefully someone with saltwater knowledge will stop by and give you some advice, or maybe one of the moderators can move this thread over to the salt water section where there are others that have the live rock and sand and can tell you whether you can use them in the freshwater tank.
Wish I could help.. but personally I have no idea about those things..
Good luck with your tank.

~ kate

neverendingninja
There's no way you could sell it, eh? Not even for half price? Really, sand isn't the best idea to use in any aquarium. I understand live sands purpose in SW, but sand has a tendency to condense and not allow circulation, which contributes to the formation of nitrogen or sulfur gas pockets, which can very easily be deadly to fish.

I can say that you will have to rinse all of it quite well before filling your tank up with Freshwater because of the salt residue. That stinks.

agsansoo
pkmiller,
You have sand and live rock, all you need is a powerhead. Why do you want to quit ? Maybe I can change your mind ! ;D

sgould
Really...you've got the basics in place for a nice FOWLR tank there. Keep the faith!

susitna-flower