Ok ready for my lashings!

Shawnie
I went everywhere today looking for bio-spira and of course, as most said, all on backorder or never carrying it...so I got something called "cycle"..I also did a 50% water change on my 75 gallon tank that was never cycled (as until I joined here, I had not a clue what it was) and yesss I'm waving the "I thought I knew about fish" hand!..So any opinions on the "cycle"? Tell me it was better than nothing because I was so scared about the ammonia from just putting my kids in a new tank without it being cycled!

luna
I've heard that Cycle promotes the wrong kind of bacteria, so it doesn't work properly, and can make your tank dependent on the product to continually supply the bacteria it creates...but I'm not speaking from experience, just repeating what I've been told.

MelissaF
I'm just a newbie to fish as well and I don't know where you are but most stores in Canada carry cycle and promote using it. That's all I know from looking around as I set up my tank.

Shawnie
I had been told that at my LPS believe it or not, but where NO ONE locally carried the bio-spira and my ammonia was high enough that ordering online and waiting mite have been too late, I was hoping the one time use and continued water changes for a few weeks will be ok..thanks a bunch for your help !!

Shawnie
ps..love the vids luna!! beautiful ladies!

luna
Thanks...and a suggestion. If you can't get bio-spira, then you CAN use Prime as a water conditioner. It blocks some of the ammonia in the water as well as the chlorine and chloramine, which is why it won't play well with bio-spira (which needs the ammonia or it starves to death), but could help keep the ammonia level down in your tank as you cycle it. That's what I'm going through with my little girl at the moment - daily water changes and Prime as my water conditioner. Not ideal, but it's working.

Shawnie