oh dear :-(

1. newbie101 Well Known Member Member

my male swordies are acting like they are going to die :(  Ammonia 0, Nitrite 0, Nitrate less than 5 plus I just did a water change with RO water (because my pH was higher than 8! Yes I acclimatized the swordies b4 ading them, 1/2 hr or so, and 1 female jumped out of the net ontothe floor, but she is doing fine and themales aren/t ??? )  They are up at the top, one is kinda sideways amd the other keeps going down 2 the bottom and laying there, then going back up ???

2. EmpPleco Well Known Member Member

:'( aww i am sorry to hear.

The only things that come to my mind, although I am not experienced in this, are:

Internal Parasites?
    and/or
    Are the fish of old age?

3. newbie101 Well Known Member Member

I just got them 2 days ago, so they cant be that old...
    this same thing happened to all my fish, they keep dying on me! No ich or anything, just lethargic and gasping at the surface :(

4. EmpPleco Well Known Member Member

Is there enough oxygen flow in your tank?

Is the tank overstocked? (sorry, I am just trying to figure out why??)

5. Gunnie Well Known Member Member

You may have to take longer to acclimate them to the major ph change. A ph of 8 is probably fine for your swordtails to live happily in. I wouldn't try and alter the ph all the time with RO water if it was me.

6. 0morrokh Fishlore VIP Member

First of all, livebearers like high pH's. Yours is fine.

Give your fish a salt bath! Get a container such as your clean water bucket, fill it with tank water, and add several tablespoons of salt per gallon. Then put your swords in there. Leave them in there until a) they show signs of distress, like having trouble staying upright, or b) they've been in ther for a max of 10 to 15 min. I had a Guppy who sounds just like one of your males, gave her two salt baths (one a day) and now she's fine.
    I hope your fish get better!

7. newbie101 Well Known Member Member