# of fish to how many gallons of water?

aj_1992

Valued Member
Reaction score
I'm new to this fish hobby, and i would like some idea as to how big of a tank i should get if i wanted 7 zebra danios and 5 corydoras in the tank. possibly might even add some serpae tetras later if i can raise up enough allowance (i've been saving up for quite some time now). i read on some site for every inch of fish i should have a gallon of water, but read on some other sites 2-3 gallons of water for every inch of fish. i saw a pretty good deal for a ten gallon tank with almost everything needed to start it. but didn't know if it would be enough for the number of fish that i would like to have.

whetto

Valued Member
Reaction score
Welcome to Fishlore! You've found one of the best resources for anything aquaria related my friend!

now, as for your question, the general rule of thumb used by professional keepers(which i am not, but im learning...) is that for every inch of MATURE fish, you should have one gallon of water. For example, a dojo loach grows to around 8 inches, so therefore it should be the only thing in a 10 gallon tank(roughly). Go to your pet store, and check how big the fish can get, and add the numbers. I could be wrong, but your plans sound too big for a ten gallon tank. others who know more will be able to elaborate more for you later in this post im sure.

Hope i helped!!

Butterfly

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Whetto is exactly right.when deciding how many fish you can have you have to look at their ADULT size and their habits. The one inch per gallon of water is good as far as it goes. You have to also consider their mass. I guess what I'm trying to say is it would be ok to put 10 one inch neons but not ok to put 1 eight inch oscar.