Odor & algae?

1. P

Panoply New Member Member

Hello!

I am new here, so I'll introduce myself. I'm Jeremy, but please call me Panoply or Pan here, a 40 year old man in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. From the ages (approximately) 20-25 I kept a 20 gallon freshwater aquarium. I stopped using it when I moved, giving my fish to a local retailer.

I set up a 10 gallon aquarium 5 days ago and have some problems. First, thre is an unpleasant odor. I don't know what's causing it, but I have yet to get a snail (ordred one online and it has yet to arrive) and perhaps that's the problem? I also have a pale tan mucus-y looking stuff at the bottom of my aquarium. I have never seen anything like it! I didn't move far. I graduated LSU - when I had my 20 gallon - and moved perhaps 2-3 miles from where I used to live. So the water is the same. The aquarium gets more sunlight than I'd like, but could it be that simple?

I ordered and received a siphon gravel cleaner - but it is absolute JUNK! I could buy another, but don't know if that will help. It'll likely work temporarily, but I ned to get at the cause.

The only think different in this new aquarium is that I've included real sea shells collected along the Gulf of mexico. I of course thoroughly washed them.

I have an Aqueon pump and an aerator whose brand name I've forgotten. They work fine. What else? The fish? I have one Dwarf Gourami, 3 platies, one 'Creamcicle' Molly and an albino catfish for my garbageman. I intend to add 1 silver OR black Molly (I had 2 creacicles but one died). The yet to arrive snail is a Blue Mystery Snail (Pomacea bridgesii).

PLEASE HELP! I've never had these problems! My algae in the past was greenish.

Thanks,
    Pan

2. Aquaphobia

Aquaphobia Fishlore Legend Member