Odd Red-Tail Shark Deaths?!

Discussion in 'Red Tail Shark' started by tanksalot, Jul 12, 2015.

1. tanksalot

tanksalot New Member Member

Hello everyone! I am new to FishLore today :;hi1 (yay) and I thought I would ask a question.

Before I start: I have a 38 gallon tank with an Angelfish (not aggressive AT ALL), an African Spotted Leaf Fish, four tetras. At the time of the death, I was using an algae liquid to help get rid of some of the algae.

So, I went to the store yesterday and bought two Red-Tail Sharks. I know, I know. People all over the internet strongly suggest to only get one because if you have more tan one, one of them will become dominant, but the employee who was helping me strongly suggested I get two. Anyway, I put them in the tank and they were fine for a couple of hours (I acclimated them and did everyone perfectly) but they both died during the night. I was able to return them (well actually the store gave me two new ones instead- and the new ones are doing fine) and I had my tank water tested and everything was perfect- no irregularities.

So..... does anyone happen to know what might have happened? Thanks so much guys!

2. alink

alink Well Known Member Member

Welcome to Fishlore!

Unfortunately, without pictures of the fish, any statement about what happened would be purely speculation.

Let me just say that a 38 gallon tank is too small for 1 red tail shark, let alone 2. People with 150 gallon tanks have had issues trying to keep 2 of these fish together. I have 1 in my 55 gallon and it is doing great! 55 gallon is the most commonly suggested minimum size for these fish, because they are 4 foot long and provide enough horizontal swimming space.

3. OP
    OP
    tanksalot

Okay. I suspected so. Thanks so much! :;hi2

4. BornThisWayBettas

BornThisWayBettas Fishlore VIP Member

Welcome to Fish Lore!!!! :D Good to have you here! :)

First off, exact readings of your water parameters would be very helpful, as well as what test kit was used.