Odd Information Being Given On Facebook

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by gilques85, Apr 9, 2017.

1. gilques85

gilques85 New Member Member

Ok, so this isn't a situation of my own. But one that i seen on Facebook. A female facebook member was wanting to rehome her 3 Angels because she feels that her 40Gal tall is getting too small for them. Now, there are other members telling her that all 3 Angels are fine in there, and several other members actually said that they've even put up to 8 Angels in a 40Gal.
    Now, I'm still fairly new to this myself, so I didn't want to put my 2 cents in.
    But from all the advice i see on here, I would assume that those members are giving her the wrong info. But then again, I'm not sure what the correct advice would even be.
    Are they correct with the advice they're giving her?
    How would I tell her otherwise, if she is getting wrong info?

It looks like she also has a couple of Platy, Tetras and Cory Cats in there, based off the video. Not 100%sure.

2. Al913

Al913 Fishlore VIP Member

8 angels...adults or juveniles? 8 juveniles is fine but when they become adults that is when there will be territorial issues and deaths. If there is a breeding pair there will definitely be deaths if its a 40 gallon tank.

3. OP
    OP
    gilques85

The male that responded to her said he has 10 Angels in his 55Gal, 4 of which are Adults.

Her(the op) 3 looks to be juveniles.

4. BeanFish

BeanFish Well Known Member Member

Relying on facebook to get your fish advice is like shooting yourself in the foot.
    Even relying on information given here on fishlore is not the best idea, the best idea is to always do your own research, ask here on fishlore and other sites, get a lof of points of view and formulate your view on the subject.
    If you want to tell her they are wrong then just post a comment and hope for the best, some people are stubborn and wont believe you, after that you can not do anything.

5. Lorekeeper