Odd Behavior?

ABiondi

Reaction score
I am new to the fish keeping, and I've tried to read up as much as i could. I already found out i need a bigger or second tank so that is on the way. I also found out the hard way that multiple rainbow shark is a bad thing.My tank includes: 2 rainbow (one albino), one red tail (very young), 3 Mollie (pregnant dalmatian, 2 marble), 1 Bala Shark (didn't know their adult size, he's leaving soon), 1 young pleco, and a crazy fiddler crab. i won't embarrass myself by indulging how big the tank is.. lets leave it at too small. The reg. rainbow (male), has established dominance and half the tank. He really doesn't hurt the other sharks as much as he chases them away from where he doesn't want them. The albino is the odd one.. She is newer to the tank because i hoped 3 would be better than 2, at first she was swimming around fine but after the rainbow showed who's boss she hides in the corner. The weird part is she does it vertically, tail up, nose down. I thought she was sick, but when the rainbow is not around she comes out a grabs some food and maybe a lap around the tank. If the rainbow comes out she seems to turn her belly toward him to "hide" , he typically leaves her alone. She is a little bigger than him so i'm not TOO worried while i wait for the other tank, but the upside down behavior is odd, is it not? She also swims backwards a lot, but physically looks fine and acts normal when he's not around.. is this normal submissive behavior? or could it be this bladder infection thing? Any feed back would be appreciated..

Thanks,
AB

PS - the male rainbow leaves the Mollies alone, even the tiny one, but he has murdered a young pleco. He is a fun fish and i hope the bigger tank will allow me to keep the albino with him, but the small red tail is taking a bit of a beating and will have to stay in the small tank.

lolagurl

Well Known Member
Reaction score