Question Nutrients For Plants

MJK

Reaction score
Hello to all senior plant keepers out there.

I am a beginner with a 15 gallon tank and I started keeping some plants in my tank. Some of the beginner plants like hornwort, anubias, water sprite, anacharis, duckweed, pothos,hair grass.,java fern.

Well, I did have success growing hornwort, duckweed and water sprite as they are fast growing plants. But recently I have a doubt, I believe these plants absorb nutrients from my tank water to grow. Will it reach a stage whereby there is no more nutrients left in my water? What will happen? Well to clarify, I do not use C02 and fertiliser, current substrate is sand only.

Vishaquatics

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
There are close to no nutrients in regular tap water and a limited amount that come from the fish in your aquarium. There will be a stage when the plants exhaust all the nutrients from the water. In order to prevent this from happening, I recommend picking up something like Thrive by NilocG from amazon or ebay. It's an all in one plant fert that has all essential nutrients. But whatever you do, don't pickup Seachem flourish. It's a waste of money and contains little to no nutrients

Chanyi

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Short answer, yes, they will "run out".

Thrive is a good, simple, and budget friendly option to ensure your plants have what they need available to them..

Mollieworld

Reaction score
Experience
4 years
I am not an expert on plants at all, in fact I too am a beginner I have been reading reviews on my LFS "homemade" fert and it sounds amazing! I am going to try it and thought I would share it with you
Easy Green All in One Fertilizer

OP
M

MJK

Reaction score