Nutrient Deficiencies

Discussion in 'Aquarium Plants' started by DaleM, Apr 12, 2018.

1. DaleM

DaleMWell Known MemberMember

Hi all,

I'm new to planted tanks and am running a very low tech set up, but will eventually go mid tech and perhaps start running some CO2.

Tank has been running for 7 months: 130L (34.5 Gallon) 90x37x42cm (42cm high)

At the moment I have:

1x Amazon Sword (in tank for 2 weeks)
    3x Java Fern (2 weeks - split from 1 plant)
    3x Hygrophila corymbosa (I now know these aren't true aquatic plants - been in tank 6-7 months)
    1x Banana Plant/Lily (2 weeks)
    1x Anubia nana (7 months)

I've taken some photos to see if anyone can identify any nutrient deficiencies. I can perhaps see Magnesium and Potassium defiencies? One of the sword leaves is curving downwards on the tips and edges.

I dose Seachem Comprehensive once a week (about 1/2 to 1 capful) and the sword and Lily have Seachem Root Tabs right next to their roots. These will be replaced every 2-3 months. I also put a couple of teaspoons of calcium powder in the tank every 1-2 weeks to help my Mystery Snail. Use Prime as the water conditioner and sometimes dose excel when I remember.

No CO2 (maybe in the future as I add more plants)

Running the stock LED light that came with the tank (2 strips of white LEDs) however about to buy the Fluval Fresh & Planted 2.0 to future proof myself and will only run it at about 40-50% for the time being. Lights runs for 6 hours daily and about 40cm above top of small gravel substrate.

pH - 7.5
    Ammonia - 0
    Nitrite - 0
    Nitrate - hovers around 20ppm
    gH - 6-8dgH (colour change used to be more obvious, now it seems very subtle)
    kH - 4dkH

Attached image of water parameters in the town water.

Temp is 25-29C (it gets hot in Australia!)

7x Sterbai Corydoras
    8x Pristella Tetras
    7x Cherry Barbs (will be getting 1-2 more)
    1x Mystery Snail