Now What Have I Done???

1. A

Ann Constantino New Member Member

Hello, I am a relative beginner and the thread below tells the story of trying to get my 20 gallon tank cycled, which I believe finally completed a little over a week ago. I never knew how much I would like the color yellow until I got an ammonia reading with no green. Parameters have been 0/0/20-40 for well over a week.

I called the manager of the closest good lfs and had a long talk with him about the whole saga. He suggested I add a bubbler, which I did, thinking maybe CO2 poisoning in the night. He also assured me it was OK to add some fish since the 5 danios in there are doing very well, except for staying mostly at the bottom when the light is on.

I fell in love with Black Phantom Tetras and added 4 of them on MOnday. For a couple days all seemed well, the two species were interacting peacefully and everyone was swimming around freely, although mostly near the bottom when the light is on.

Then, starting yesterday morning it seemed like the tetras were hiding, staying still behind plants and just treading water. The Danios seem fine. Readings are stable. I don't think I can stand it if those beautiful little things become my latest victims.

When I bought the kit, I went with a flourescent light because I was told it was best for the plants. Is it possible the light is wrong for the fish? They all seem to stay near the bottom most of the time, even the active danios.

Thanks for any help. I'm a basket case.

Feel Terrible....what Am I Doing Wrong?

Ann

2. techfool

techfool Valued Member Member

Lots of fish will stay away from bright light even danios. Plants, more plants.

3. Willed

Willed Valued Member Member

I second this but also keep an eye out for the strength of the current, that kept my cardinal tetras reclusive in a corner until I figured out a way to reduce it.