Now Parasites?

1. oOturquoiseOo

oOturquoiseOo Well Known Member Member

My poor poor fish!

This guy is super skinny and obviously dying now :'( I lost one overnight as well.

What is going on?! What do I need to order?

Please help.

I'm not good with pictures so here's a video.

2. Caitlin86

Caitlin86 Well Known Member Member

My daughter noticed Peppa Pig in the background LOL. Can we get parameters? Praziquantel is what I use for internal parasites..it is nitrogen cycle safe and wont harm inverts.

3. Sarah73

Sarah73 Fishlore VIP Member

Actually he looks well. He seems healthy. What's the water parameters? Usually when you get new fish they are a little skinny. Have you seen any worm sticking out? or white poop? (usually indicates there are parasites)

4. OP
    OP
    oOturquoiseOo

Yes, my daughter is obsessed with peppa. Haha!

The water is all over the place :( I only tested ammonia right now because I have been run ragged with a kitchen reno that seems never ending. Ammonia was 2 ppm this afternoon. Did a huge water change and gravel vacuum and now it is 0.5 ppm.

Background on the issues I'm dealing with... :'(

Power was out 12 hours Wednesday. Right when we left to go out of town. My mom checked the fish when the power came back and said everyone was fine. Got home Friday evening. The tiny pleco was dead. Everyone seemed fine so I stupidly didn't test the water. Then this morning I found a dead tetra and this one on the way out :'( Found ich yesterday and have been raising the temp. It is 85 F now.

Ammonia 0.5 ppm (another water change tomorrow)
    Nitrites?
    Nitrates? (will check these in a few minutes)
    pH 6.0

I added about double the amount of prime with this water change

Live plants (no rotting leaves)

1 angelfish, 8 diamond tetras, 1 kuhli loach

60 gallon tank

I don't know what else to say.