Novice, losing fish, need to start from scratch...what do I do with my snails? plus any other advice?

apont

Reaction score
Hi All -

My first time posting here. I am a novice who has been trying to establish a 10 gallon aquarium for over a year. My set up is real simple. I start with 1 fancy goldfish, and just keep losing them after a month or so. This time around, I got smart and started testing PH and Ammonia, adjusting with Prime and Seachem Netural regulator, but then the fish got Ich. I treated w API Super, fish seemed to rebound, but then I think I killed it with the 25% water change. (Yes, I used Prime in the new water and let it sit out over night before I added to the tank). I am thinking I should just start over - dump the entire tank, scrub and clean it, replace gravel, maybe get a new filter, etc. Do you agree this is the most full proof solution?

In the mean time, I still have two snails in the tank which seem to be doing well. My question is, can I try and transplant them, or should I assume that if there is a disease, that the snails are contaminated too? I hate to just toss them in the garden.

e_watson09

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Alright so it sounds like you have quite a bit going on here. #1, stop using any pH adjuster. They cause WAY more harm than good and make your pH unstable which can be a death sentence for fish.

I would purchase an API master test kit. Test your ammonia, nitrates and nitrites. That will tell us where you are in your cycle. I would not just start over, you have your cycle started and it takes time to finish.

Depending on the type of snails you have they likely can produce enough ammonia to allow the tank to cycle with just them in it.