Not the best betta homecoming...

Discussion in 'Betta Fish' started by MyFireElf, Mar 16, 2010.

1. MyFireElf

MyFireElfNew MemberMember

I meant to lurk here a lot longer before making my first post, but I thought you betta lovers could understand this better than the people in my "real" life (the ones who stare at me like I have gone completely crazy over a FISH)... Keep in mind I'm really new to fishkeeping.

I have a ten gallon tank that I wanted to keep one betta in, so today I went out to buy one I saw over the weekend, but when I got him home I noticed he only had one pectoral fin - the left one was completely gone. I called the store to find out if he would be ok, or what I could do, but before I could get past "one fin" the saleswoman told me to bring him back and exchange him, so I did. I freaked out and made a bad emotional decision. The betta I have now is nice enough, but I'm heartbroken missing the other one, you know? I can't go and switch back again because I love this one now too, and I don't have enough money for a second tank setup to go buy back the finless one. I'm sad and guilty and worried about the other one, and my husband just keeps saying "You only had him for fifteen minutes, why do you care?"

Sorry for the dramatic downer introduction. I just wish today had been a happier homecoming. :'(

2. lyndra

lyndraValued MemberMember

Welcome to Fishlore!!

awww *hugs* they are so cute it's really easy to get emotionally attached - I dote over my little guys (my boyfriend is SO sick of hearing about the fish... I joined the forum to give him a break from hearing about it)

there's not much you can do about the one you returned, but you can make sure that you give your new little guy the best life you possibly can - do you have photos? we'd love to see him

3. bassbonediva

bassbonedivaFishlore VIPMember