Not sure about Aqueon Pro heater?

Discussion in 'Heaters' started by happyfins14, Jul 27, 2015.

1. h

happyfins14 Valued Member Member

I'm moving out of the state and into one with 5 month winters. I'm guessing the house's temperature will be about mid 70 ish? For my planned freshwater planted 20 gallon with platies, guppies, julii cory catfish, and amano shrimp, I want to have a heater. This Aqueon Pro heater was suggested to me. I found it on Amazon right here: http://www.amazon.com/Aqueon-Heater...=1438054988&sr=8-1&keywords=aqueon+pro+heater

I'm not sure what wattage to get. I hear a lot of people get a 100 watt for a 20 gallon, and others use a 50 watt. I have no experience with heaters because I currently live in an extremely hot place where the temperature barely varies at all, and my betta tank stays at a consistent high 70-80 degrees.

I'm thinking I should get the 100 watt. It's adjustable, plus if it's colder than I believe I'll be all set. Also, it's a little cheaper than the 50.

But I still want a second opinion. And third and fourth and fifth or however many I get. I'd love any thoughts you guys have. Thanks!! :D

2. LiterallyHydro

LiterallyHydro Well Known Member Member

While a 100w heater would be sufficient in most circumstances, if the temperature is consistently in the 70s in your home, you could likely get away with a 50w. My situation is pretty extreme, but I have a 75w heater on a 29G tank and it's doing the job just fine in a house where the temperature never goes below 72.

But with a reliable heater like Aqueon Pros, I would just spring for the 100w so the temperature remains stable, instead of having 1-2 degree fluctuations throughout the day.

3. OP
    OP
    h

Thanks for the super speedy reply Hydro :) I think I'm going to go with the 100w too. I'm too scared to take risks when it comes to my little fishies

4. LiterallyHydro

LiterallyHydro Well Known Member Member