Normal Betta Behavior??

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish and Invertebrates' started by kk07723, Apr 14, 2017.

1. kk07723

kk07723 New Member Member

so guys I am new to this! I'm not sure if this is where this goes so if I need to take this somewhere else, please let me know!
    I bought my betta 5 days ago and at first had him in an unfiltered, unheated 1 gallon tank. (Bad, I know, but I was waiting to cycle his 5 gal.) last night i had gotten it to where his 5 gal was ready to go, so after letting him float I let him into his new tank in hopes that would change his mind. He has not eaten or pooped since I got him. Another thing I've noticed is he is always swimming the glass, he's never really in the middle of the tank. I've tested for ammonia/nitrates, his tank is at 78 degrees, filtered, he has a few silk plants and a Little Rock to hide behind, not many hiding spaces or things to explore but I'm working on it. Could it just be the stress of environment change or could something be really wrong? When I drop his food in, it's like he smells it and goes toward it but before he gets to it, he just swims away and ignores it. :( I don't know if there's any bloating or anything on the outside that looks bad, I thought he might have some fin rot but I really can't tell as I am new to this. Any help would be appreciated! :p

Attached Files:

2. KimberlyG

KimberlyG Fishlore VIP Member