Noob Question You've Probably Heard 100 Times Before

1. daisyjimin Initiate Member

hi, everyone! i am a beginner to fish keeping. i bought a 10-gallon tank a while ago and cycled it for about a month. then two days ago i added my first fix -- six neon tetras. they're looking very bright and healthy and adorable so far, but now i'm thinking about what to finish stocking it with.

i would LOVE a male betta, but after tonnes of research, i've only heard mixed things about keeping them in a community tank. some people say they can get along fine with a small school of neon tetras, and i've seen plenty of success stories, but other say don't even try. so i'm here asking for this community's input. :)

if i get one, my tank will be heavily planted by the time i do so that they all have places to hide. it's modestly planted at the moment and will eventually be heavily planted regardless. the temperature is 78F (i have since turned the heater down to 76, just waiting for the temp to change) with a ph between 6 and 7 last time i checked, which was just before i added the tetras. i would also make sure to choose the most calm betta at the pet shop rather than the prettiest, as i know they have individual personalities.

worst-case scenario, i could buy a 5-gallon for the betta, but i'd really prefer to keep everyone in a single tank.

so what are you guys' opinions about male bettas in community tanks?

2. Pastel.Fish. Member Member

You could try since it only matters on the betta`s behaviour, so one that`s very laid back should work perfectly. Test it out with a breeders net in your tank to see if all he does is flare at the fish, then slowy let him out and closely observe his behavior! I hope this helps and if you try that it works out smoothly! :)

(Also in some cases bettas are the ones bullied in community tanks!)

3. 2211Nighthawk Well Known Member Member

Depends on their personality. Some get along and others will violently murder anything in the tank.