No Nitrates!! Ytho???

Cosfish

I'm soooo confused... I am new to tanks/fish, but I understand the cycle process now. I have been running my 20 gallon with 7 small Glofish since September 30. I fight ammonia (1-2ppm) and done water changes every day to every other day to once a week, testing water daily and changing it up so that I can try process of elimination with the ppm. I use Prime daily and have reduced feeding. I test the water every day and write it down. 0 ppm Nitrites and 0 Nitrates. I've added API Quick Start and even tried Fritz Turbo Start. I noticed the water getting cloudy this week, without changing the water since last week. I have ammonia reducing filter media and I did a google search and seen cloudiness could be bacterial bloom. Is my tank cycled or starting? It's annoying me! I have another smaller tank that is cycled with Turbo a little after a week. I had high ammonia and Nitrites. I just did a full water change and its now it's 0 ppm everything except Nitrates. It's at 5.0 ppm for Nitrates in my smaller tank. Back to my 20 gallon tank, I am fighting with... I have a slime coat on the decorations. Does that mean anything towards it being cycled? My fish are fine, not stressed and the water is more clear now that that I just did a 50% water change. It's been months... What gives? Can you over do it with adding Turbo Start? Should I get more? Any info is appreciated.

SouthAmericanCichlids

Do you use cartridges, if you do, when you change them they could be restarting the cycle.

mattgirl

The first thing i would do is remove the ammonia reducing pad. while cycling a tank you really don't want anything in there removing the ammonia. Have you tested your pH level in this tank? Is it holding at 7 or more?

I don't think you can over do it with bottled bacteria.

Cosfish

SouthAmericanCichlids said:
Do you use cartridges, if you do, when you change them they could be restarting the cycle.
Yeah I do use but have not replaced them yet