Help Nitrogen Cycle

RedTailedSharkLover

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hello everyone and good morning. I'll start off witg my stocking. 10 Zebra Danios, 5 Emerald Green Corys, 10 Tiger Barbs, 1 Red Tailed Black Shark. 55 Gallon. I had this tank since August 3rd and added the danios 1st on the ith of August and each other approximately 1 week after the other in the order i mentioned in my stocking. It took me awhile to get my cycle going because I used 2 duds of Seachem Stability. I ordered some Tetra Safestart and used it on September 5th. My question is should i perform a water change now? Im not seeing any ammonia or nitrites but some Nitrates I believe and my water looks disgusting because of the tannins in my driftwood (really urking me ). I haven't done a water change since the 3rd of September. Here are my test tube reading. I am no expert but im learning day by day. To me the color indicator on the nitrates look likes its about 5.0. Nitrites are 0 and ammonia I cant really tell but it looks about 0 or .25. Thanks in advance.
1568213374918.jpg
1568213433993.jpg

kallililly1973

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
That’s sounds right. A lot of people including myself sometimes see a very slight tinge of green in the ammonia api kits and it’s never seemed to have been a problem so we all have basically called .25 the “new” zero for the ammonia test . Do you have pics of your tank it’s sounds like you have an interesting bunch in there!!

Momgoose56

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years