Nitrogen Cycle

1. M

Mollys423 New Member Member

I recently got a 29Gallon tank I have kicked start it with the old water and rocks from a 5 Gallon the water was pretty dirty when I stirred it up. I filled my 29G tank put fresh start up in it let it run for 4 hours. then added in the dirty water in there followed by some fish food. Is there anything else I can do I already put my fish in there I'm hoping they will be okay. I'm a beginner just wondering if it will be fine any information would help I'm trying my best. Oh yeah I have 2 Mollies and a platy. I definitely need to get some rest strips

2. fisharegreat8962

fisharegreat8962 Valued Member Member

I understand that you're going to be doing a cycle with fish, you probably shouldn't do that but that's just my opinion, I think that fishless cycles are much better and easier to do, no matter how "hardy" the fish are.

But since you've already started and everything (there's still time to change, but I'm assuming you don't have the money/time/room to do anything now), you'll have to get some test kits as soon as possible.

Let us know the water parameters as soon as you can :)

Wishing the best for you and your fishies!

3. OP
    OP
    M

Rofl that's funny if these fish did I'll have to do a fishless cycle so much to know about this stuff I've been busy this weekend for the 4th I'm going to Wal-Mart In the morning to get some test just didn't cross my mind at the time. So my fish have a chance of living as long as levels don't go crazy? Thanks for taking your time

4. musserump09

musserump09 Well Known Member Member

1. Learn Nitrogen cycle please.
    2. Buy Prime and Stability or your fish will not survive the cycle.
    3. Don't buy test strips. waste of time and money. API Liquid test.
    4. if need any help feel free to ask. good luck!

5. fisharegreat8962

fisharegreat8962 Valued Member Member

Yes, they have a chance of living. Do you know all the parts of the nitrogen cycle?