Nitrogen Cycle Parameters Randomly Dropping To Zero

Discussion in 'Aquarium Nitrogen Cycle' started by hithere1234, Jun 1, 2019.

1. hithere1234New MemberMember

Hi there, i am an experienced freshwater hobbyist. i have established the nitrogen cycle easily with several other setups... i am having a problem with my current one... i add and maitnain ammonia to 4ppm-8ppm for several days straight , then randomly one day the ammonia, nitrites, AND nitrates all read 0 ..there is no problem with my api freshwater test kit as when i measure the nitrates of another tank with fish in it before a water change will read 20ppm..

2. Ohio MarkWell Known MemberMember

Welcome aboard! :)

3. Dawn MicheleWell Known MemberMember

Welcome to Fishlore!!!

4. mdjrncValued MemberMember

I typically just set up a tank with the full scape during the cycle and I include plants in all scapes. I also add snails and my tanks cycle in a month. The easiest way to do it is to get already cycled biological media. Such as the little fluval rings. If you take already cycled media and put it in your filter your cycle should be done in 5 days or less. Rather than adding ammonia.

5. hithere1234New MemberMember

i am using seachem matrix , has worked 8 times before. any reason that i'm adding ammonia to maintain 4ppm - 8ppm daily and then randomly one day ammonia, nitrite and nitrate are all 0. can anyone explain why and how this is possible?

how much cycled media do you need? can i take a pinch out of an already established tank ?

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 1, 2019
  6. mdjrncValued MemberMember

I didnt mean any offense, I was just saying what I do to cycle. I cannot explain why the ammonia and other tests would go to 0 though. Only thing I could think of is maybe the test for ammonia and nitrite is not working and that your nitrates haven't started increasing yet. I have had faulty test kits where my ammonia kit would read 0 no matter what.