Nitrites Through The Roof...

Lily44

Reaction score
I'm brand new to fish-keeping. I have a five gallon tank with three (Glo) danios. Yes, I know this is too small for them, but I can't get a bigger tank right now, so I'm trying to just take care of them best I can. But I cannot seem to get my nitrites down... I've changed 20% of the water everyday for a week, I added media to the filter, I bought Quick Start and Stress Zyme. Nothing is working.

Now I have one of my fish at the very top, swimming back and forth at the water line. He has a distended stomach and what looks like flipped out scales on the bottom of his stomach. The other two zip around and chase each other.

Inactive User

Well Known Member
Reaction score
How high is "through the roof"? Nitrite is quite toxic.

As a point of comparison, the nitrite LD50-96hr for cardinal tetra (that is, the lethal dose of nitrite required to kill 50% of a population of cardinal tetra over 96 hours) is 1.5 ppm and mortality is induced with as little as 0.25 ppm (de Oliveira et al., 2008).

The behaviour of one of your fish suggests nitrite poisoning. I would recommend doing several large (50%) water changes one right after the other to bring nitrite to below 0.25 ppm. In addition, I would suggest dosing aquarium salt: the clinical literature indicates 50 ppm salt (1 teaspoon - 5 grams - per 20 gallons of tank water) is sufficient to inhibit nitrite toxicosis in freshwater fish (Noga, 2010).

coralbandit

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
^^^ +1 ^^^
Easiest to just change water as mentioned . The % you change is the % the nitrite will be removed. So if you are 2.5ppm a 50% change will get you 1.5 ,then the next 50% will get you .75 and so on. Nitirte causes more damage for most fish then ammonia in same ppm .
This also is the one time IMO to use salt . This is what it treats and not just aggravates.

Lily44

Reaction score